Anyone wishing to contact the Governing Body can do so by emailing Lloyd Parry-Williams, Clerk to the Governors, at LParry-Williams@rydalpenrhos.com

Andrew Charlesworth

Judith Fenn

Matthew Gilman

Nick Jewsbury

Debra Keogh

Deborah McKinnel (Chair)

Brian Park

Jeremy Salisbury (Vice-Chair)

Anne Watson (Vice-Chair)


rydal penrhos

Ms Deborah McKinnel JP has been a Governor since 2018 and is a Presiding Justice in both the Family Court and the Adult Criminal Court, having worked within the judicial system for 15 years.

She is also an appraiser, mentor and recruiter of Magistrates throughout Wales, and has previously served as a Regional Manager for Britannia (now Tui) Airlines.

Her expertise in the Family Court has been invaluable in assisting school staff in securing the highest standards within the school, as reflected in recent inspections.

She has also been heavily involved in the Board’s support and challenge for all personnel matters during the conversion to a day school.

In addition to this contribution, Ms McKinnel has also seen through the adoption of the highest professional standards for Governors (in line with the Nolan Report on public life) which can be read in the ‘Code of Conduct’ and ‘Job Descriptions’ for Governors at the bottom of this page.

Anne Watson - Vice Chair, Chair of Learning and Personnel Committee

rydal penrhos

Anne was appointed Governor of Rydal School in 1989 and of Rydal Penrhos in 1995. She is a Trustee of the Rydal Penrhos Charitable Trust and of the Rydal Penrhos Endowment Fund.

Anne attended Howells School in Denbigh from 1962 before moving to Rydal School in 1966. She achieved a Certificate in Education from Westminster College, Oxford in 1971 (English and History) and later a Certificate in Further Professional Studies in Dyslexia from Bangor University in 1996.

Anne retired from teaching in 2009 having worked for over 30 years in both the private and public sectors, fifteen of which were as Special Needs Co-ordinator.

She was President of The Old Rydalian Club in 1995 and is Chair of the Trustees of the Abbeyfield, Colwyn Bay Society.


JEREMY SALISBURY - Vice Chair, Chair of Resources and Finance Committee


Jeremy was born and grew up in North Wales. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1991 and attained an MBA in Financial Management in 1996.

As Owner & Director of Salisbury & Company, Chartered Accountants, Jeremy specialises in management issues and taxation strategies for clients of the firm as well as overseeing an active portfolio of his own.

Jeremy is a member of the CBI Wales Council and former Chair of the North Wales Committee. He is the current Chair of the North Wales Business Club and former Chair of ICAEW Wales Regional Strategy Board. Jeremy is the Chair of Gallery Council for Oriel Mostyn, Llandudno and a former recipient of the Arts & Business Wales Business Advisor Award.

Both of Jeremy’s children attended Rydal Penrhos, where his son was Head Boy. He continues to live locally with his wife Lowri. Jeremy enjoys business, watching football, skiing and good food.

BRIAN PARK - SAFEGUARDING GOVERNOR, Chair of Audit and Risk Committee

Brian started his full-time employment at NatWest Bank in 1972, serving in thirteen branches, largely in the North West of England, before resigning from full-time employment in 2002. Following this he continued on Fixed Term Contracts with NatWest before joining their On Call Team, finishing his employment in 2010. From May 2011 to July 2015, Brian was a part-time Financial Administrator for the Jonas Christian Holiday Centre in Wensleydale.

Having been appointed a Parent Governor of Archbishop Hutton’s Primary School in Lancashire in September 2003, Brian became the school’s Chair of Governors the following year, remaining in post until 2010. Following this he served as a Foundation Governor at Richmond Methodist Primary School in North Yorkshire from September 2015 to July 2019.

Brian is a member of the Methodist Church and has held volunteer roles including District Treasurer for Darlington District. He moved to the Conwy area in 2019 when his wife became Superintendent Minister of the Conwy and Prestatyn Circuit.


Having spent twenty-two years in the Investment Management Industry, Matthew currently works for Dragon Investment Managers, based in St Asaph, where he is responsible for the UK Equity research team. His years of Investment Management experience are complemented by the fact that he previously spent seven years as a Management Accountant after he graduated with a degree in Accounting and Management Control from Sheffield Hallam University.

Matthew’s association with Rydal Penrhos began in 2006 when his eldest daughter started attending the Prep, where his other two children were enrolled shortly after.

In addition to his role as Governor at Rydal Penrhos, Matthew is on the board of trustees at Action International Ministries, currently based out of Wallasey.

In his spare time Matthew is a keen swimmer and runner and has recently dusted off his cricket whites to play for Mochdre CC.

Debra Keogh

rydal penrhos

Debra is a Primary specialist with 25 years of experience teaching in mainstream, independent and international schools.

She is currently the Early Years leader in a large state school. She has been in senior leadership for over 20 years specialising in Literacy and Early Years.

Debra has also joined the Board’s Learning Committee and brings up-to-date knowledge and current practice which is so valuable in assisting the Board in holding the school leadership to account as well as contributing to the strategic direction of the school.

Judith Fenn

rydal penrhos

As CEO of the Methodist Independent Schools Trust (MIST), Judith Fenn is one of the two ex-officio Governors on the Board.

Judith is an experienced education professional who has worked in both the state and independent sectors. She was educated in the state sector in Manchester before studying history at Cambridge University. She taught for 13 years in the independent sector, including at The Godolphin and Latymer School, where she held the position of deputy head.

Since 2012, Judith served as the executive director of the Independent Schools Teacher Induction Panel (IStip), where she oversaw the statutory induction of newly qualified teachers in independent schools. Additionally, she currently serves as the chair of governors at St Margaret’s School in Bushey. Her extensive experience in education has made her a valuable member of the independent school community.

Expression of Interest