Achievements celebrated at 2021 Speech Day
September 15, 2021

Rydal Penrhos celebrated the achievements of our fantastic Year 13 and 11 pupils at its annual Speech Day event.

One thing that’s been sorely missing from Rydal Penrhos over the last 18 months is the community coming together at events put on by the school during the academic year. However, with coronavirus restrictions now being relaxed by the Welsh Government, it allowed staff to organise one of the most prominent dates on the calendar a little later than usual.

The school was thrilled to welcome pupils, staff, distinguished guests and parents for its Year 13 and 11 Speech Day, which took place in the Memorial Hall on Friday 10 September.

Speech Day began with a fantastic addition of the Welsh National Anthem before the school’s Chair of Governors Julian Barnes addressed those in attendance to thank them for all their incredible dedication throughout a challenging time.

John Waszek, Executive Principal of Rydal Penrhos, then took to the podium for his own special address. This was followed by the Year 11 class of 2021 received their GCSE Awards in recognition of their fabulous efforts.

Departing Head Boy Richard Wolfendale and Head Girl Anna Parry-Williams said goodbye to Rydal Penrhos with a thoroughly entertaining speech, which came shortly before the A Level and Additional Awards were given out.

There was also a musical performance to enjoy courtesy of talented cellist Gwyn Davies, who performed Cello Concertino in C by Klengel 3rd Movement.

Guest speaker and Prison Governor Jo Marston’s contribution was another memorable highlight, with Mr Barnes concluding the Speech Day event with a Closing Speech.

Congratulations to all our Speech Day winners, which can be found below.

GCSE Awards

  • Art & Design – Sophie Madden
  • French – Sophie Madden
  • Biology – Ethan Bytheway
  • Music – Ethan Bytheway
  • Chemistry – James Copeland
  • Physics – Ester Ball-Iverson
  • History – Ester Ball-Iverson
  • Religious Studies – Ester Ball-Iverson
  • Business Studies – Gregor Perry
  • Rick Maple Design Technology Prize – Gregor Perry
  • Engineering – Chay Bonnington
  • Mathematics – Joshua Stewart
  • Physical Education – Joshua Stewart
  • Michael James Award for Geography – Joshua Stewart
  • Fisher Mayer Prize for Drama – Jasmin Lewis
  • English Language – Tristan Martin
  • Spanish – Tristan Martin
  • English Literature – Saul Sugarman
  • Food & Nutrition – Charlotte Hourihane
  • Welsh – Emma Hackman

A Level Awards

  • Ken Cooper Cup for Art – Lara Pyves
  • Margaret Holden Prize for English Literature – Lara Pyves
  • Dr Margaret Sutton Prize for Biology – Kevin Farrell
  • Kerfoot Prize for Chemistry – Kevin Farrell
  • Britton Prize for Physics – Richard Wolfendale
  • Osborn Prize for Mathematics – Richard Wolfendale
  • Michael James Cup for Geography – Richard Wolfendale
  • Robson Cup for Contribution & Achievement in the Creative & Performing Arts – Richard Wolfendale
  • Further Mathematics Prize – Morgan Kendall
  • Michael James History Cup – Anna Parry-Williams
  • Religious Studies Prize – Anna Parry-Williams
  • Business Studies Prize – Olivia Trunkfield
  • Economics Prize – Oliver Winters-Jones
  • Psychology Prize – Amanda Sperring
  • Cambridge Technical in Sport Award – Dylan Craddock
  • Bradley Prize for Design & Technology – Josh Manning
  • Jennifer Jones Prize for Drama – Cerys Cuddihy

Additional Awards

  • Scarlett Salisbury Charity Award – Morgan Kendall
  • Morris Cup for Personal Development – Harri Jones
  • Rankilor Prize for General Progress – Harri Jones
  • Tickner Trophy for Contribution to the International Dimension of the School – Alicia Zhou
  • Jane Crosland Good Samaritan Cup – Lara Pyves
  • Rosa Hovey Scholarship Award – Richard Wolfendale
  • FORPS Prize for Head Boy – Richard Wolfendale
  • FORPS Prize for Head Girl – Anna Parry-Williams
  • Principal’s Award – Ben Purcell

Picture Gallery


Anyone wishing to enquire about Rydal Penrhos School can do so by calling 01492 530155, email admissions@rydalpenrhos.com or register your interest online here: https://rydalpenrhos.com/admissions/apply-now.

Enquire Now